Meeting Minutes

1.25.07 Heritage Commission Meeting Minutes - Download

9.27.06 Heritage Commission Meeting Minutes - Download

12.08.05 Heritage Commission Meeting Minutes - Download

Annual Report < < < CLICK HERE

Purpose and Plans

The Heritage Commission's emphasis during the year 2005 has centered on continuing projects.

One goal was realized in June when a "story board" was erected at the site of the Lime Kilns in East Haverhill. The "board" was constructed and set in place by Bob Clifford, assisted by Commission members. The marker describes the site's two different periods of historic significance to the town -- the first being in the mid-nineteenth century when lime was being manufactured, and the second when the Civilian Conservation Corps was located there during the 1930's. Visitors are encouraged to reach the Kilns by following the Chippewa Trail from the Black Mountain/ Appalachian Trail.

Plans for establishing a memorial park at the site of the homestead of John Hazen have proved frustrating. Problems with access to the area and invasive growth of bamboo have hindered the progress of work there. The Commission recognizes the need for legal determination of a right-of-way to the site, as well as a method of controlling the bamboo. We remain committed to finding a way to honor the memory of the man who founded the town of Haverhill.

Inventories of historic sites and buildings are nearing completion. The loss of a significant example of Victorian architecture in Woodsville this past year heightened awareness of the need for identification and preservation of our historic treasures.

Commission members evaluated three historic barn applications for the Selectboard in May. We also attended the NH Arts Alliance meeting at the Rocks in Bethlehem, where plans were considered for a North Country tourist brochure.

The Commission supports the Bath-Woodsville Covered Bridge restoration project and is working in conjunction with the Conservation Commission in developing Riverview Park in Woodsville.

The public is welcome to attend the Heritage Commission meetings, which are held on the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Morrill Building in North Haverhill.

Current members of the Commission are Shirley Cobb, Jane Darby, Lois Henson, Wayne Mitchell, Marilyn Seminerio, Ruth Wellington and Lynn Wheeler (Selectboard representative). Alternate members are Carolyn Byrne, Chris Cronin, Bruce Simonds and Frank O'Malley.

By Jane Darby,

Commission Member



| Heritage Minutes | Home | Back to List of New Pages |

| History Pages |

| Site Map